I haven’t been faithful to my blog, but I have another place I write all of this down, so I’ll post some thoughts and the days I wrote them:

April 7th, 2007
I am Catholic!!!! Wow.

April 14th, 2007: 7 days Catholic
I haven’t blogged in a few days, but I can only say that I’m still on a high from last Saturday. I got to go to daily Mass a couple of days this week, and being able to receive the Lord in the Eucharist was such a blessing. I really feel that the Eucharist has been the factor in changing my life these past few months. Eucharist adoration was one level, but now being able to partake . . . there aren’t words enough.

Today I spent the day at my paw-in-law’s, just hanging out and fishing. What a great day to be Catholic!

April 15th, 2007: For the sake of His sorrowful passion
Today was the Sunday of the Divine Mercy. Some weeks ago I bought a rosary and began praying the mysteries. However, I soon found, to my delight, that there were other prayers based on the rosary – including the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. I love this prayer. It is simple and powerful. When I pray it, I tend to focus on the love of Christ as He suffered for mankind. What better Sunday to be designated as the Sunday of Divine Mercy than the Sunday after Easter. For it was today that Christ offered His hands and side to St. Thomas, with them still bearing the wounds of His crucifixion. Those wounds were and ARE! Christ’s declaration of love for us. “For the joy that was set before Him!” What was the joy? We are.

. . . have mercy on us and on the whole world.

April 20, 2007: I’m no apologist!
recently was referred to as a “Roman Catholic apologist”. Ha! As if. I’m simply a Catholic. And a baby one at that. I’m hard pressed to live my faith, much less defend it at the drop of every electronic hat. Sure, I have the vast resource of Roman Catholic teaching at my beckon call (thanks Google!), but I have found that the more time I spend arguing about my faith, the less time I’m trying to live it. It’s like I’m trying to convince myself rather than the ‘other guy’. That’s no way to do apologetics. I think the best way to witness to the truth of your faith is to live it. Preach the gospel, and if necessary use words.

April 26, 2007: Feeling Forgiven

Yesterday I went to my first confession after becoming Catholic. I thought about waiting a few days, not taking communion – almost as a penance in itself . . . but when I pulled into the church parking lot for mass yesterday, I was a bit early. I saw the priest walking to his office, and this longing to go to him overwhelmed me. I had prayed to God, expressing my sin and asking for His forgiveness, but there is something wonderful (dare I say sacramental) in confessing one’s sins to a priest. So I went, and I confessed – and when he absolved me . . . I truly felt forgiven. It was an amazing feeling. Mass was soon afterward and I believe it was the most beautiful service I’d ever witnessed. No smells and bells, just simply a small, daily Mass. But what grace there is to truly discern the body and blood of Christ! What He won for me on calvary, I had just experienced and do experience. God is truly good.

