It’s been quite a while since I blogged about Introduction to Christianity. Although I’m eagerly awaiting Pope Benedict’s new book, Jesus of Nazareth, I have to make it through this one before I order. It’s not that it’s a hard read. It really isn’t. However, my life has changed recently, and my free time isn’t quite as free as it used to be. On to the blog.

In the chapter titled, “Belief in the Triune God,” Cardinal Ratzinger writes:

The doctrine of the Trinity would . . . be essentially negative – the only remaining way to reject all attempts to fathom the subject, a sort of cipher for the insolubility of the mystery of God. It would become questionable if, for its part, it were to result in a simple, positive desire for knowledge. If the painful history of the human and Christian striving for God proves anything, it surely proves this: that any attempt to reduce God to the scope of our own comprehension leads to the absurd.

Those who don’t understand (not that I do) Catholic theology and those who don’t try (I at least try) tend to dismiss it as exactly what Cardinal Ratzinger rails against: an attempt to ‘reduce God to the scope of our own comprehension’. Many create a nice little strawman, complete with the Catholic theologian meticulously plotting out the paths of God’s grace. These critics are simply ignorant. And sadly missing out on wonderful teaching found in the ‘evil’ West. This book is only one more example. I’m almost positive that the Pope’s next work will be as well.

