I’m a new Catholic. Received on Easter Vigil of ’07. So I shouldn’t be burned out on the in-house Catholic debate on “traditional” versus “progressive” already should I? Well, I suppose my downfall is my regular blog reading. It’s gotten rather tiresome, honestly. I get it . . . the Traditional Latin Mass pwns the Novus Ordo.

I’ve never seen a real, live TLM. I saw parts of the one on EWTN. I have dreams of visiting the one in New Orleans some day (only 2 hrs away). Yet, I don’t feel as if I’m missing something necessary for my faith. I agree with Mark Shea on this issue. He wrote a great little article titled, Some Thoughts on Motu Proprio Mania, in which he says,

The point of shoes is not to notice them, but to walk in them. Shoes you constantly notice are Bad Shoes. Liturgy you focus on is liturgy that’s not doing its job, which is to refer us to God, not to itself.

That is such a good illustration of what I feel about Mass. Or, rather, how I should feel about Mass. I admit that sometimes I long for more traditional music, more reverence before the Blessed Sacrament, more this, less that . . . but then, sometimes, the grace of God shines a light in my darkening thoughts and I realize Hey! I’m not here to be coddled or stroked or to sit in judgment. I’m here to be judged, to be forgiven, to be changed. Does it bother me that the person next to me in the choir flips through the hymnal during the homily? Yes. Does it bother me that no one says, “The peace of the Lord be with you” during the sign of peace? Yes. But it bothers me more that all of that bothers me!

I simply want to be there, and to be changed.

