I was finally able to attend my first Latin Mass in the extraordinary form.  Wow.  It was indeed very different from the ordinary form, however, it was quite a wonderful experience.  I felt very close to Christ even though the opportunities for ‘participation’ were not as numerous.  It was a dialog mass, so if I was up on my Latin I could have done more, but as it was I merely tried to take it all in.  The silence was amazing.  The prayers of the priest are, for the most part, inaudible. This makes for some serious time of reflection.  Also, the time spent on my knees made me realize why so many saints were formed under the extraordinary form – my knees were aching so bad toward the end. I simply offered it up and tried to focus on Christ.

I would encourage anyone to experience this at least once. I definitely want to go back.

