If you’re Catholic, then you’ve been accused of being an idol worshiper.

One of those rare moments of pure clarity hit me while I was studying this issue some years back.  I looked at the Old Testament injunction against making images of God (specifically images of God – not other personages or creatures).  I believe this can be found in  Deuteronomy and it states: “Since you saw no form on the day that the Lord spoke to you at Horeb out of the midst of the fire, beware lest you act corruptly by making a graven image for yourselves, in the form of any figure”

Since you saw no form . . . I’ll never forget when it hit me – Christ says, “When you have seen me, you have seen the Father.” He is called the Godhead in bodily form.  Christ himself overturned this injunction by His Incarnation.  It hit me like a ton of bricks and I’ve never been bothered by the feeling I’m worshiping an idol. Never.  It seems to me that those who think that icons or religious art somehow insult God perhaps haven’t meditated on the overwhelming topsyturviness of the Incarnation.

